Data processing in the context of test drives

ISUZU Motors Germany strives for high quality standards in the development of vehicles and vehicle systems. We apply the same high standards to the handling of your personal data.

In order to improve the safety and driving comfort of new vehicles, ISUZU is working on the development of driver assistance systems. For this purpose, we drive with appropriately marked test vehicles on test sites and public roads and record the data of the vehicle and the environment. This also includes videos of the vehicle's surroundings.

1. Responsible body for data processing

ISUZU MOTORS Germany GmbH, based in 65462 Ginsheim-Gustavsburg, registered under Darmstadt HRB 53969, is the controller within the meaning of the EU General Data Protection Regulation ("GDPR") for the processing of personal data related to the video and audio recordings for the development of driver assistance systems.
For enquiries, please contact
ISUZU MOTORS Germany GmbH
Datenschutzbeauftragter
Im Weiherfeld 2
65462 Ginsheim-Gustavsburg
Germany
You can also reach our data protection officer at datenschutz@isuzu.de

2. What data is processed and for what purpose?

Many vehicles on our roads already have cameras and sensors (such as radar, ultrasonic or GPS) to detect objects in the environment. As a result, they are able to recognize, for example, cars, motorcycles, people, lane markings or traffic signs and support the driver with assistance functions such as emergency braking assistants or lane departure warnings.

The marked test vehicles are equipped with similar technology. In contrast to production vehicles, which usually do not store videos, video and audio data are stored in our tests on public roads for the analysis and further development of the assistance systems.

When evaluating the videos, the traffic objects are categorized so that the vehicle can include the different characteristics of the road users in its calculations. Normally, it is not possible to identify individual persons, as the recording only takes place briefly in passing. However, when driving slowly or at a standstill (e.g. at a traffic light, in a traffic jam or at pedestrian crossings), it cannot be ruled out that persons are recognizable and thus personal data within the meaning of the GDPR is recorded.

During the evaluation of the videos, the traffic objects are categorized so that the vehicle can take into account the different characteristics of the traffic objects. The recorded data is used exclusively for the further development and improvement of road safety or for the further development of the functionality of driver assistance systems or comfort functions of new vehicles.

The following example shows an image of our cameras with the classified objects (red = vehicle, yellow = pedestrian, blue = cyclist).

3. Legal basis for the processing of personal data

The legal basis for the collection and processing of personal data for the development of driver assistance systems is the "legitimate interest" of the controller according to Art. 6 para. 1 lit. f GDPR, which consists in the research, development and testing of vehicle systems.

ISUZU has not only an interest, but also a duty to carefully develop and test vehicle systems. The stored data is therefore also used as evidence to the approval authorities in connection with the homologation (type approval) of the vehicles.

4. How long will personal data be stored?

Personal data will only be stored for as long as is necessary for the purposes mentioned above or to comply with legal obligations.

5. To whom will the data be disclosed

The development of driver assistance systems is highly complex and can only be achieved in cooperation with other companies. In general, the data is shown in the context of research and development as well as parameterization and validation in connection with driver assistance systems. For this purpose, Isuzu Motors Germany GmbH is commissioned on a project-by-project basis by the parent company Isuzu Motors Limited, Yokohama, Japan. Accordingly, the data are made available to the parent company's data. The adequate level of data protection is in place, as an adequacy decision pursuant to Art. 45 para. 1 GDPR.

If necessary, we share the data with internal and external cooperation partners, suppliers (e.g. sensor manufacturers) and service providers (e.g. for data processing) in compliance with the legal provisions.

6. Marking of the test vehicles

Our test vehicles are marked with the following or similar stickers:

7. Rights of data subjects

In accordance with Art. 15ff. GDPR, persons who have been recorded by our recording devices may claim the following rights toward ISUZU at the responsible body as specified under No. 1:

  • right to be informed
  • right to rectification
  • right to erasure
  • right to restriction of processing
  • right to data portability
  • right to object

Since no road users are identified during data processing, we cannot trace whether a person has been recorded at all without further information. In order to determine whether you are affected, we therefore need the exact location and time as well as other personal characteristics with which you can be clearly identified on our videos.

ISUZU Motors Germany will take great care to address your concerns. If you believe that your rights have not been sufficiently taken into account, you have the right to lodge a complaint with the competent data protection authority.

datenschutz@isuzu.de

This Privacy Policy is valid and has the status of July 2024

ISUZU Worldwide Privacy Policy

Datenverarbeitung im Rahmen von Testfahrten

ISUZU Motors Germany strebt nach hohen Qualitätsstandards bei der Entwicklung von Fahrzeugen und Fahrzeugsystemen. Die gleichen hohen Standards wenden wir auch im Umgang mit Ihren personenbezogenen Daten an.

Um die Sicherheit und den Fahrkomfort neuer Fahrzeuge zu verbessern, arbeitet ISUZU an der Entwicklung von Fahrerassistenzsystemen. Dafür fahren wir mit entsprechend gekennzeichneten Testfahrzeugen auf Testgeländen und öffentlichen Straßen und zeichnen die Daten des Fahrzeugs und des Umfelds auf. Dazu gehören auch Videos der Fahrzeugumgebung.

1. Verantwortliche Stelle für die Datenverarbeitung

Die ISUZU MOTORS Germany GmbH mit Sitz in 65462 Ginsheim-Gustavsburg, registriert unter Darmstadt HRB 53969, ist verantwortlich im Sinne der EU-Datenschutzgrundverordnung („DSGVO“) für die Verarbeitung der personenbezogenen Daten in Verbindung mit Video- und Audioaufzeichnungen zur Entwicklung von Fahrerassistenzsystemen.
Für Anfragen wenden Sie sich bitte an
ISUZU MOTORS Germany GmbH
Datenschutzbeauftragter
Im Weiherfeld 2
65462 Ginsheim-Gustavsburg
Deutschland
Unseren Datenschutzbeauftragten erreichen Sie weiterhin unter datenschutz@isuzu.de

2. Welche Daten werden verarbeitet, und zu welchem Zweck?

Viele Fahrzeuge auf unseren Straßen verfügen schon heute über Kameras und Sensoren (wie Radar, Ultraschall oder GPS) zur Erkennung von Objekten in der Umgebung. Dadurch sind sie in der Lage, beispielsweise Autos, Motorräder, Personen, Fahrbahnmarkierungen oder Verkehrsschilder zu erkennen und den Fahrer mit Assistenzfunktionen wie Notbremsassistenten oder Spurverlassenswarnungen zu unterstützen.

Die gekennzeichneten Testfahrzeuge sind mit ähnlicher Technik ausgestattet. Im Gegensatz zu Serienfahrzeugen, die üblicherweise keine Videos speichern, werden bei unseren Tests im öffentlichen Straßenverkehr Video- und Audiodaten für die Analyse und Weiterentwicklung der Assistenzsysteme gespeichert.

Bei der Auswertung der Videos werden die Verkehrsobjekte kategorisiert, damit das Fahrzeug die unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften der Verkehrsteilnehmer in seine Berechnungen einbeziehen kann. Im Normalfall ist eine Identifizierung einzelner Personen nicht möglich, da die Erfassung nur kurz im Vorbeifahren erfolgt. Bei langsamer Fahrt oder im Stillstand (z.B. an einer Ampel, im Stau oder an Fußgängerüberwegen) kann aber nicht ausgeschlossen werden, dass Personen erkennbar sind und damit personenbezogene Daten im Sinne der DSGVO aufgezeichnet werden.

Die aufgezeichneten Daten dienen auschliesslich zur Weiterentwicklung und Verbesserung der Verkehrsicherheit bzw. zur Weiterentwicklung der Funktionalität von Fahrerassistenzsystemen oder Komfortfunktionen neuer Fahrzeuge.

Das folgende Beispiel zeigt ein Bild unserer Kameras mit den klassifizierten Objekten (rot = Fahrzeug, gelb = Fußgänger, blau = Radfahrer).

3. Rechtsgrundlage für die Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten

Rechtsgrundlage für die Erhebung und Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten zur Entwicklung der Fahrerassistenzsysteme ist das „berechtigte Interesse“ des Verantwortlichen nach Art. 6 Abs. 1 lit. F DSGVO, das in der Forschung, Entwicklung und Erprobung von Fahrzeugsystemen besteht.

ISUZU hat nicht nur ein Interesse, sondern auch die Pflicht zur sorgfältigen Entwicklung und Erprobung der Fahrzeugsysteme. Die gespeicherten Daten dienen daher auch zum Nachweis gegenüber den Genehmigungsbehörden in Verbindung mit der Homologation (Typprüfung) der Fahrzeuge.

4. Wie lange werden personenbezogene Daten gespeichert?

Personenbezogene Daten werden nur so lange gespeichert, wie es für die oben genannten Zwecke oder zur Erfüllung gesetzlicher Verpflichtungen erforderlich ist.

5. An wen werden die Daten weitergegeben

Die Entwicklung von Fahrerassistenzsystemen ist hoch komplex und nur in Kooperation mit anderen Unternehmen zu leisten. Generell werden die Daten in Verbindung mit der Forschung und Entwicklung sowie der Parametrierung und Validierung in Zusammenhang mit Fahrerassistenzsystemen aufgezeigt. Dazu wird die Isuzu Motors Germany GmbH projektbezogen jeweils durch die Muttergesellschaft Isuzu Motors Limited, Yokohama, Japan beauftragt. Entsprechend werden sie Daten der Muttergesellschaft zur Verfügung gestellt. Das angemessene Datenschutzniveau ist vorhanden, da für Japan ein Angemessenheitsbeschluss nach Art. 45 Abs. 1 DSGVO vorliegt.

Falls notwendig teilen wir die Daten unter Einhaltung der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen mit internen und externen Kooperationspartnern, Lieferanten (z.B. Sensorherstellern) und Dienstleistern (z.B. zur Datenaufbereitung).

6. Markierung der Testfahrzeuge

Unsere Testfahrzeuge sind mit dem folgenden oder ähnlichen Aufklebern markiert:

7. Rechte der betroffenen Personen

Personen, die von unseren Aufzeichnungsgeräten erfasst wurden, können nach Art. 15ff. DSGVO folgende Rechte gegenüber ISUZU bei der Verantwortlichen Stelle, wie unter Nr. 1. spezifiziert geltend machen:

  • Auskunftsrecht
  • Recht auf Berichtigung
  • Recht auf Löschung
  • Recht auf Einschränkung der Verarbeitung
  • Recht auf Datenübertragbarkeit
  • Recht auf Widerspruch

Da bei der Datenverarbeitung keine Verkehrsteilnehmer identifiziert werden, können wir ohne weitere Informationen nicht nachvollziehen, ob eine Person überhaupt aufgezeichnet wurde. Um festzustellen, ob Sie betroffen sind, benötigen wir daher von Ihnen den genauen Ort und Uhrzeit sowie weitere persönliche Merkmale, mit denen Sie auf unseren Videos eindeutig identifiziert werden können.

ISUZU Motors Germany wird sich mit größter Sorgfalt um Ihre Anliegen bemühen. Sollten Sie der Auffassung sein, dass Ihre Rechte nicht ausreichend berücksichtigt wurden, haben Sie das Recht auf eine Beschwerde bei der zuständigen Datenschutzbehörde.

datenschutz@isuzu.de

Diese Datenschutzerklärung ist gültig und hat den Stand vom Juni 2024

Datenschutzerklärung ISUZU Worldwide